Apple Cider Vinegar can’t do everything (but it sure does a lot)

I talked a few months ago about my adventures in going without shampoo/conditioner. I’m still going strong- a light, dilute (1 tbsp/cup) apple cider vinegar spray and rinsing with water, occasionally I use aloe before bed because my scalp tends to get itchy (a problem from before, I think it’s a fibro thing). After things started getting cold, having wet hair in the morning was not something I wanted and just spraying my hair with vinegar and running a comb through it is enough.

I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned that both my partner and I have curly hair. Kiddo, of course, also does. Curly, tangly hair that I’m tempted to just leave as dread locks because it keeps trying to form them. We have conditioner, and I’ve also mixed up honey & oil mixtures to be able to get a comb through it without too much pain. I finally looked up homemade detangler options just for the heck of it. Most of it was just mixing water and conditioner, fair enough. I also came across something else: Apple cider vinegar.

Well, duh. I never thought about it but of course, my hair’s been a lot easier to brush since using ACV. So I decided to give it a try, lightly spraying the back of kiddo’s hair (do not want vinegar in the eyes!), then sat with Fantasia on and gently brushed through it. I did have to stop periodically and start again more gently, constantly reassuring Bo that if  they want me to stop I would and asking permission before starting again. I was able to get through all of it without too much heartache. It also looked really nice, usually combing through curly hair leaves it poofy as anything. With the vinegar, it doesn’t get like that. My partner was so impressed that they’re considering giving it a try.

We’re planning on making it part of our daily routine from now on, to try and keep our toddler’s hair under control.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

