Trust Your Body- Unless It Lies

Trusting your body is actually a pretty good idea. Within reason.

My body and I have a complicated relationship and a messy history. For a long time, food was a problem for me. I had no idea what was going to make me sick. I could eat something, think it was fine, then end up curled up in agonizing pain. There was no pattern I could see.

While I was pregnant, my body was pretty damn good at sending loud and clear “eat this, not that” signals. Of course, these signals included my throat deciding that it wouldn’t let me swallow until after I tried- but, hey, teamwork takes practice.

After I got rid of gluten, suddenly a lot more of those signals managed to get through. Unfortunately, this is accompanied with a continual (although gradually diminishing) craving for gluten. Fortunately, the punishment for eating gluten is swift and merciless- it’s an easy reminder not to listen to that craving. I’ve seen people theorize that gluten is addictive, I don’t know if it is, but I can certainly see why they’d suggest it.

Generally when you crave food, it’s because you need it. What the heck are you supposed to do when your body starts craving a food that hurts you?  Kiddo has the same “addiction” to gluten I do, and my dad kept shoving gluten on him and saying “If he didn’t need it, he wouldn’t eat it”- not true.

I’m trying to get better at listening to my body. I’m much better at listening to it say “that’s bad, don’t eat it”. But I’m wary about the foods I am able to eat. I’m always worried that there’s some other nasty thing that’s hurting me and making my body beg for it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

