No shampoo & hair straightening

One of the things about curly hair that’s annoying is that it takes so much longer to grow. Technically, it grows at the same rate as straight hair (I think), but because it curls, it isn’t as obvious.

Right now, the front of my hair is at an awful length where it gets in my eyes. Literally. The tips slap my eyeballs every time I move wrong. It’s too short to stay behind my ears without bobby pins.

So, I thought I’d give straightening it a try. I figured that, straight, it’d be long enough to stay behind my ears. Or at least it would be too long to hit my eyes like that. Since I’m no longer using shampoo or conditioner (for the record: once a week I spritz with dilute apple cider vinegar until it’s saturated, then rinse it out), I was a bit curious about what straightening would do to it. I’ve only done it twice in my life, last time I used a heavy conditioner afterwards to repair it.

I did use a commercial heat protector spray on my hair. My partner straightened it and didn’t do a super duper thorough job. It’s not bone straight, it’s got a slight wave. I actually prefer that, it looks a little more natural (especially given that I’m used to curly hair, bone straight looks very odd on me). I’m not sure if it was the hair spray or my hair freaking out at the straightening, but my scalp got really itchy afterwards.

To avoid straightening it every day (which I don’t think my hair could handle even with ‘proper’ conditioner), I’ve been using corn starch as a dry shampoo. I rubbed it into my scalp once it started itching, and it really helped. So far, I’ve just been using it before bed. I straightened my hair 2 nights ago, and this morning I woke up to the softest hair. I don’t now how or if the straightening effected this, I think it’s mostly due to the corn starch. I thought that I needed to rinse my hair very thoroughly daily because I wasn’t washing it, but apparently the corn starch does the job as well.

Yesterday, there was a bad rain storm, and I had to run through it. My hair didn’t get soaked but it did get wet. I was really surprised that it didn’t curl up all the way. It just got a little more wavy. (again- I’m not in the habit of straightening my hair, so I don’t know if that’s normal for me or not)

I’m not sure how long I’ll be able to keep going like this. I’m not sure how long I’ll want to- having to keep my hair out of the water when washing the rest of me (especially my face) is tedious. I also haven’t figured out a way to do dry shampoo that’s faster than my normal hair care method, especially when I’m getting a shower anyways, because I just use water almost every day of the week so ‘washing’ my hair takes as long as combing it through. It’s possible that if I get more experienced with the corn starch or figure out a better application method (some have suggested a makeup brush), it’ll be something I’ll want to use more often.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

