Baking Soda and Hair: Approach With Caution

I mentioned before that I stopped using shampoo. The “normal” way of doing this is to start instead using baking soda and vinegar on your hair (note: some people advise raw apple cider vinegar, which apparently has added benefits, just throwing that out there). I decided to just use water.

I found this blog post warning about the dangers of Baking Soda.

By washing my hair with baking soda twice a week for the past 3 years I have pretty much put it through the chemical process of dyeing. Twice a week.

“Baking Soda Destroyed My Hair”

I just wanted to post it here as a warning, because I usually see the baking soda/vinegar treatment without any caveats. I’m not saying that no one should ever try it, but go in knowing what the risks are. It may work for you, different hair has different needs, but don’t wear rose-colored glasses like this blogger did.

I’m also not 100% happy with the water-only results, so I’m looking into alternatives. I may still give the apple cider vinegar thing a try since I got some raw ACV, I’m still looking into whether or not that’s okay, but I’m very glad that I never tried the baking soda thing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

